Nationalist candidates at 2016 council elections – full list

ballot box

The first big surprise in the 2016 English council elections is that the BNP has fewer council candidates (outside London) this year than the National Front. With almost all councils now having issued their official lists of candidates standing in the May 5th elections, H&D can publish what is almost certainly a complete list covering the various nationalist parties.

The NF has eight council candidates (plus Richard Edmonds for the GLA); the BNP has seven (plus a London-wide list of GLA candidates). Like the BNP, the anti-Muslim party Britain First is contesting the London mayoral election and has a GLA list, but Britain First has no candidates outside London.

As we predicted in the March-April issue of H&D, a new nationalist party registered just in time for these elections: British Resistance, whose five council candidates include several former BNP activists (see below).

The British Democratic Party has just one candidate this year, partly because its strongest region in Leicestershire has no council elections in 2016.

We include the civic nationalist English Democrats here, even though most of the prominent BNP activists who defected to the EDs five years ago now seem to have given up, so the majority of this year’s ED candidates are people who were never members of the BNP, NF or any other radical nationalist party.

Kevin Hilliard – who stood against Adam Walker last year in an election for BNP chairman – is standing as an independent candidate for Chaddesden ward, Derby, which he previously contested for the BNP. Another Independent – former BNP councillor Lynda Cromie – is seeking a comeback in Queensbury ward, Bradford, where her husband Paul is still a councillor.  Mr and Mrs Cromie left the BNP some years ago and no longer have any connection with the nationalist movement.

A council by-election in the east London borough of Havering is also being held on May 5th and is being fought both by the NF’s Kevin Layzell and the BNP’s Denise Underwood. Aside from the GLA battle between the BNP and Britain First, this is one of only two council wards where there will be rival nationalist campaigns this year. The other is Swinton South ward, Salford, where former BNP parliamentary candidate Eddy O’Sullivan is standing for the new British Resistance party against Craig Holmes of the English Democrats.

By contrast, several nationalist candidates are lucky enough to have no UKIP opponent this year, including what should be two BNP targets – Gannow ward, Burnley, and Marsden ward, Pendle.

Also likely to benefit from UKIP’s absence are the NF’s Kevin Bryan in Rossendale; the BNP’s Christopher Houston in Barnsley and Bill Kitchen in Tameside; and several ED candidates including their entire slate in Liverpool, Steve Morris in Bury, Colin Porter in Barnsley, and Kevin Rafferty in Newcastle-under-Lyme.

More news of the 2016 local election campaigns, as well as information about the simultaneous GLA, Scottish Parliament, Welsh and Northern Ireland Assembly and Police and Crime Commissioner elections will appear on this site later.

National Front candidates

Amber Valley Borough Council
Langley Mill & Aldercar – Timothy Knowles
Ripley & Marehay – Michael Sharpe

Birmingham City Council
Kingstanding – Terry Williams
Oscott – Adrian Davidson
Sheldon – Paul Morris

Calderdale Borough Council
Todmorden – Chris Jackson

by-election: London Borough of Havering
Heaton – Kevin Layzell

Hull City Council
Bricknell – Nick Walsh

Greater London Assembly
Croydon & Sutton – Richard Edmonds

Rossendale Borough Council
Irwell – Kevin Bryan

Todmorden Town Council
Walsden – Chris Jackson


British National Party candidates

Barnsley Borough Council
Kingstone – Christopher Houston

Burnley Borough Council
Gannow – Chris Barnett
Rosegrove with Lowerhouse – Chris Vanns

Havant Borough Council
Hayling West – John-Laurence Henry Moore

by-election: London Borough of Havering
Heaton – Denise Underwood

Greater London Assembly
Mayor – Dave Furness
London-wide list – Dave Furness, Paul Sturdy, John Clarke, Michael Jones, Peter Finch, Nicola Finch, Denise Underwood, Stephen Dillon, Philip Dalton, Roger Tonks, Gareth Jones, Bede Smith.

Pendle Borough Council
Marsden – John Rowe

Stockport Borough Council
Reddish South – Ged Williams

Tameside Borough Council
Ashton St Peter’s – Bill Kitchen

Ightenhill Parish Council
Chris Vanns elected unopposed


British Resistance candidates

Salford City Council
Barton – Wayne Tomlinson
Swinton South – Eddy O’Sullivan

Worcester City Council
Gorse Hill – Linda Bell
Nunnery – Carl Mason
St John – Alan Draper


British Democratic Party candidate

Bradford City Council
Wyke – Dr Jim Lewthwaite


Independent candidate

Bradford City Council
Queensbury – Lynda Cromie

Derby City Council
Chaddesden – Paul Hilliard


Britain First candidates

Greater London Assembly
Mayor – Paul Golding
London-wide list – Jayda Fransen, Paul Golding, Jake Elstone, Christine Smith, Anne Elstone, Nancy Smith, Hollie Rouse, Peggy Saunders, Donna King, Kevan McMullen, Steven Connor.


English Democrat candidates

Nuneaton & Bedworth Borough Council
Attleborough – Stephen Paxton
Bede – David Lane

Liverpool City Council
Riverside – Michael Lane
St Michaels – Dr Paul Rimmer
Warbreck – Steve McEllenborough

Liverpool Mayoral Election
Dr Paul Rimmer

Salford City Council
Swinton South – Craig Holmes

Bury Borough Council
Besses – Stephen Morris

Epping Forest District Council
High Ongar, Willingale and The Rodings – Robin Tilbrook

Barnsley Borough Council
Central – Colin Porter
Hoyland Milton – Justin Saxton
Rockingham – Kevin Riddough

Maidstone Borough Council
Shepway South – Timothy Raymen
Shepway North – Gary Butler

Slough Borough Council
Cippenham Green – John Barrow

Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council
Town – Kevin Raftery

Walsall Borough Council
Rushall-Shelfield – Chris Newey

by-election – London Borough of Croydon
West Thornton – Winston McKenzie

Police and Crime Commissioner candidates
Bedfordshire – Toni Bugle
Kent – Steve Uncles
South Yorkshire – David Allen
West Yorkshire – Therese Hirst

Comments are closed.

  • Find By Category

  • Latest News

  • Follow us on Twitter

  • Follow us on Instagram

  • Exactitude – free our history from debate deniers